Get Involved

How to apply for Green List nomination?

You are managing a protected area* and would like to measure its performances against the IUCN Green List standards?

Before submitting your protected area’s application for Green List nomination, first check if your country has already established an Expert Assessment group for the Green List (EAGL) – a key body of the Green List process.

Click here to check the list of countries in Africa having already set up an EAGL.

If your country is not on the list, please contact beatrice.chataigner@iucn.org to find out at what stage your country’s EAGL development process is at, and how to proceed if there is no EAGL set up yet.

Protected areas located in a country which already has an EAGL will have to follow these 5 steps:

         Step 1:

Register your protected area online on  http://iucn.force.com/glpca.

         Step 2:

As a PA manager you will be asked to fill in the Green List questionnaire related to Green List standards. The answers you provide must be supported by sound evidence.

Contact beatrice.chataigner@iucn.org to receive your country’s GL questionnaire, she will assist you throughout the Green List application process.

         Step 3:

Once completed, the Green List questionnaire and the evidence provided is reviewed by your country/jurisdiction’s EAGL.

         Step 4:

After validation from EAGL, the GL questionnaire will be reviewed by an International independent Reviewer.

         Step 5:

After validation from the reviewer, the GL questionnaire is transferred to the IUCN GL Panel for final decision. Note that if the IUCN GL panel decides that your PA doesn’t meet GL standards yet, in order to reapply, you will be requested to improve some of the criteria. You can reapply for Green List nomination as many time as needed, there is no limitation.

Click here for more information on the application process for Green List nomination.

*The term “protected area” in this context refers to the following IUCN definition:  “A protected area is a clearly defined geographical space, recognised, dedicated and managed, through legal or other effective means, to achieve the long term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services and cultural values.”

List of countries having set up an EAGL in Africa

  • Kenya _ since 2013
  • Benin _ since 2016
  • Ivory Coast _ since 2017